Crab

Crabs abound in Dominica and they come in various different shapes and sizes. I used to see them all the time in Capuchin and was instructed on the two different ways of catching them, though I never actually did it myself. You can either put a stick on their back to immobilize them and then pick them up or you can just go in from behind and grad them behind the pincers. Hmmm… well I’ve seen it done. I’ve tried practice on the little ones but I don’t know who was more nervous. I remember laughing at myself after chasing one down the road once after it indignantly scuttled away as I tentatively swooped in.

This little guy was hanging out in a wet drain on the path to Trafalgar falls and I find he is a nice color and nicely blends in to his surroundings.

Leave a Reply

