Spider

This spider caught my eye, just hanging out in its web, quite big and colorful. Hadn’t seen any like it before.

As far as I know none of the spiders or creepy crawlers on Dominica are venomous and I’m pretty sure the Peace Corps, in their anxiety to over protect, would have given us a full run down on any that did. The only things to really avoid are the quite massive centipedes that bite, causing localized pain and swelling.

I have no issues with creepy crawlies and I have had nice living arrangements with a variety of spiders and lizards. But I did draw the line and run outside screaming for help on the odd occasion a centipede was spotted… and the one occasion a crab showed up.

Leave a Reply

