Children dancing

I love the timing of this picture and how you can see the drummer surrounded by his children. This is the Paix Bouche Cultural Group doing the Bele intro at Market Day with a Difference 2009 in Portsmouth.

Children in Dominica are so vibrant, cheeky and always friendly. This Independence season I traveled around to see the shows and met a young lady whose mother was a performing Bele for one of the groups. I saw her again at several other shows and she would always run to give me a hug and then follow me around for a while. My Capuchin and Clifton children are always a treat to be around and they cheer me up no matter how bad my day or my week has been.

Leave a Reply

