Creole Day at Clifton School

Creole Day is just a few days before Independence Day and on that day all Dominicans are encouraged to wear the national Creole Wear in a show of patriotism. Schools in Dominica have all their children dress in in the national clothes and they usually put on cultural performances and organized a lunch for the children with national dishes. They are extremely cute and this makes it one of my favorite days of the year.

This picture was taken at the Clifton Primary School, in Clifton, a village at the very North of the Island. I taught there for the 2 years of my Peace Corps service so the children know me very well and I am very attached to them. As you can see, they love posing for me and the camera.

Leave a Reply

